John Stallworth Celebrity Golf Tournament

  John and close to 250 of his friends enjoyed a great day of golf at the beautiful Hampton Cove golf course on June 8, 2018 (above).

As always, we were pleased to have the following celebrity players join us for the 2019 Celebrity Golf Tournament and Pairings Party!  Make plans to join us June 13/14, 2019.  We look forward another great event!

John Banaszak
Jerome Bettis
Mel Blount
Robin Cole
Randy Fuller
Reggie Garrett
Boby Lee Harden
Rashad Johnson
Louis Lipps
Greg Lloyd
Ron McKinnon
Spike McRoy
Michael Merriweather
Donnie Shell
Richard Shelton
Dwight Stephenson
Cliff Stoudt
Mike Wagner


2018 Stallworth Athletic Awards Announced

Rauls, Langham, Davis Named Stallworth Award Winners

Al Rauls, the softball coach at Buckhorn High School, football standout Malik Langham of Lee High School and Sparkman High softball standout Taylor Davis were honored as part of the 16th annual John Stallworth Foundation Golf Tournament festivities on June 7, 2018.

Davis was an All-State softball player despite being born with Erb’s Palsy, a condition that requires her to catch and throw with the same hand. She won the Cornelius A. Martin Award at Sparkman, is a Bryant-Jordan scholar, a leader in Sparkman’s FCA program and had a 3.84 GPA. She has signed a scholarship with Western Kentucky, where she plans to major in pre-med.

Langham, an All-State defensive end, has signed to play at the University of Florida. He was the state’s Class 5A Lineman of the Year, with 104 tackles, 14 for a loss, and 11 sacks. An honor student, Langham also played on the Lee basketball team.

Rauls was the first African-American coach to win a state baseball championship (1992, at New Hope) and when Buckhorn’s girls won the 2017 state title, he became only the second coach to win a championship in both sports. His 2018 team also reached the state tournament. A former college baseball player at Florida A&M, he has been head baseball coach at Alabama A&M and also coached at Bob Jones, Sparkman and Butler.

Previous athletes who have won the award are Kerryon Johnson (Madison Academy football; pictured above with Steelers great Hines Ward), Josh Langford (Madison Academy basketball), Brandon Crosby (multi-sport athlete at Mae Jemison), Kenysha Coulson (multi-sport athlete at Lee) and Abby Brooks (Madison Academy volleyball). The coach of the year winners have been Jack Doss (Johnson basketball), Ronnie Stapler (Westminster basketball) and Richard Wilson (Lee tennis).

John Stallworth Scholarship Fund

Many deserving students are denied the opportunity to develop their full potential. In recognition of this need, the John Stallworth Scholarship is awarded to deserving students attending universities in Alabama.
Learn More